We Paint Winners

Axalta partners scored a pair of historic titles on Sunday as Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport won its fifth consecutive Formula One™ Constructors’ Championship and William Byron clinched another rookie of the year award to add to his remarkable haul of first-year honors.

Formula One

Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport captured the 2018 Formula One™ World Constructors’ Championship at the Brazilian Grand Prix, making it five straight years the team has swept the Constructors’ and Drivers’ titles.

Lewis Hamilton, who had already locked up the Drivers’ Championship in Mexico, claimed his 10th victory of the season and the 72nd of his career to help secure the title, while Valtteri Bottas finished the race in fifth place.

With the title, Mercedes joins Ferrari (2000-04) as the only teams to win five consecutive championship doubles.

Axalta’s Spies Hecker has supplied high-impact paint to the Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport Silver Arrows since 2013, helping the car stand out on tracks around the world with bright colors that endure the toughest conditions, while offering low weight and superior resistance.


William Byron locked up NASCAR Cup Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year and made it back-to-back-to-back-to-back rookie titles to his name with his ninth-place finish at ISM Raceway.

Byron won rookie honors in the K&N Pro Series East in 2015, the Camping World Truck Series in 2016 and the Xfinity Series in 2017 – a season that also saw him take home the series’ championship.

The 20-year-old is just the second driver – along with Erik Jones – to win Cup, Xfinity and Truck Series rookie honors in consecutive seasons. He’s the fourth Hendrick Motorsports driver to win Cup Series rookie of the year, joining Jeff Gordon (1993), Kyle Busch (2005) and Chase Elliott (2016).

The driver of the No. 24 has four top-10 finishes on the year, with a career-best sixth place coming at Pocono Raceway in July.

Axalta and Hendrick Motorsports recently signed a four-year contract extension that extends their partnership that began in November 1992 when Axalta first sponsored driver Jeff Gordon.

For more information, read the full press release or visit axaltaracing.com